#Karabo transl; ‘the answer’

dsc_2920Karabo aged 16.

‘I was four years old and living in Limpopo when I go burnt. I don’t remember it but I have been told what happened. I was just at home with my mum and the primus stove exploded. I got burns to my arms, shoulders, chest, neck and face. I went under the bed to hide.  When I was found I was taken to Mankweng hospital.  I have been visiting Children of fire for years and they have helped me get operations. I’ve had tissue expanders, skin grafts to help repair my ear, two little fingers released and an operation on my lip. I now live in Johannesburg with my mum, little sister, big sister and stepdad.

Leave a Reply

