Curriculum vitae

dsc_3912

The other evening the children came on masse, as they often do, to the little cottage I stay in on site when I’m here. There is always a lot of humour at the Chifi house and,  after the children had formulated their CV’s at school that day, Bronwen sent them along to me to ask for a job. Even Rien ne Dit, the three year old waved a crumpled piece of paper at me. I said I’d get back to them. Their CV’s are pretty good though. Some of the children speak four or so languages. They taught me that Ngiyakunthanda means I love you in Zulu so I’m happy!  The languages are similar African dialects but I’m in awe as they hold conversations with each other, swapping dialects between each other, depending on who they are talking to and who is in the group. Quite a skill. I’m not sure whether all of the children have bigged up their skills enough- Harmony and his musical talents that include playing jazz on the piano, even with one hand bandaged and their proficiency in swimming and chess. Their enthusiasm and ability to discuss in depth issues encouraged by the adults that work with them grow through their regular group meetings in the Chifi garden- often in the evening as the sun goes down. They are a pretty damn special bunch of kids- but hey I think I already said that.

dsc_3292

Melissa -playing chess on the platform while we waited for the delayed steam train.

Leave a Reply

